Tribute to Vinod Khanna; veteran actor honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award

New Delhi: The jury of National Film Award, on Friday, decided to give Dadasaheb Phalke Award to Veteran actor Vinod Khanna as a tribute. India’s highest film award has been given to the actor almost a year after his death. Khanna was passed away in April 2017 after a prolonged illness. Directorate of Film Festivals, set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, presents the Dadasaheb Phalke Award every at National Film Awards ceremony.

As of 2016, the award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs. 1,000,000.

Jury members include Kannada director P Sheshadri, screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Tripurari Sharma, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla, Ranjit Das, Rumi Jaffrey, lyricist Mehboob, and Rajesh Mapuskar, headed by director Shekhar Kapur.

President Ram Nath Kovind will hand-over the awards to the winners in an official ceremony on May 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *